Morocco Votes Against UN Anti-Gay Violence Resolution

Morocco Votes Against UN Anti-Gay Violence Resolution

gays morocco
Morocco Votes Against UN Anti-Gay Violence Resolution.

Morocco opposed the UN’s top human rights body call for nations to protect the rights of individuals regardless of sexual orientation.

The resolution vote came as a result of the Human Rights council expressing “grave concern at acts of violence and discrimination, in all regions of the world, committed against individuals because of their sexual orientation and gender identity”.

Fourteen nations opposed the resolution. The list includes: Algeria, Botswana, Cote d’Ivoire, Ethiopia, Gabon, Indonesia, Kenya, Kuwait, Maldives, Morocco, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, and Russia.

On the other hand, the countries that supported the U.N.’s Antigay Violence Resolution are: The United States of America, Argentina, Austria, Brazil, Chile, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Montenegro, Peru, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Romania, South Africa, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, United Kingdom, Venezuela, and Vietnam.

Finally, the list of countries that abstained from voting includes Burkina Faso, China, Congo, Kazakhstan, Namibia, Sierra Leone, and India.

After that most countries voted for the resolution, France’s UN ambassador, Nicolas Niemtchinow, said that “this resolution will offer hope for all those in the world who are victims of such violence or discrimination, and that is its goal.”

“This history and the struggle against all forms of discrimination had therefore made us, as a people and a country, commuted to the principle that no person should be subjected to discrimination or violence based on race, class, sex, religion, gender and, as is the case with this resolution, on the basis of sexual orientation or gender identity,” said South Africa’s ambassador, Abdul Samad Minty.

The Moroccan Times.