EU to impose asset freeze on 21 Russians over Crimea

EU to impose asset freeze on 21 Russians over Crimea


The European Union will impose an asset freeze and travel restrictions on 21 people. These include a senior Russian lawmaker and a military commander who support Crimea’s move to join Russia.

Foreign ministers from 28 EU member countries held a meeting in Brussels on Monday to discuss a response to Sunday’s referendum in the southern Ukrainian region.

The EU said in a statement issued after the meeting that it does not recognize the illegal referendum or its outcome. A majority of Crimean voters supported joining Russia.

The EU says it will impose sanctions on the figures who it claims threatened Ukraine’s territorial integrity and sovereignty.

The sanction list 13 Russians, including Deputy Speaker of the lower house Sergei Zheleznyak and Black Sea Fleet commander Aleksandr Vitko, as well as 8 others, including Crimea’s Prime Minister Sergei Aksyonov.

The statement also urges Russia not to take steps to annex Crimea. It warns the EU will impose broad economic sanctions.

The statement calls for European monitors to be sent to Ukraine.

EU foreign policy chief Catherine Ashton said she hopes that following the sanctions Russia will make right decisions and tensions will be eased.

Source: NHK