Moroccan Rapper “L7A9ED” Nominated for Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought 2014

Moroccan Rapper “L7A9ED” Nominated for Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought 2014

mouad l7a9ed-rapper-morocco-Mouad-Belghouat
Moroccan Rapper Mouad Belghouat is commenly known in Morocco as “l7a9ed.”

A recent press release from the European Parliament said that the Moroccan rapper and political activist among the 20th of February movement “L7a9ed” has been nominated for the Sakharov Prize, a world-renowned freedom prize formerly won by Nelson Mandela.

Mouad Belghouat (his real name) has been released last week from the prison of Aïn Borja, Casablanca, after he has been arrested last May shortly before the decisive Raja of Casablanca vs Maghreb Atletico Tetouan game. Back-then, he was accused by the prosecutor of the court of first instance in Ain Sebaâ of “selling/buying tickets in the black market”, “being drunk in public space” and “violence against a police officer while performing his duties.”

The European Parliament said that seven nominees for the “European Parliament’s 2014 Sakharov Prize for freedom of thought” were chosen by political groups and groups of MEPs.

The committees will shortlist three finalists on 7 October. The laureate will be decided by political group leaders and Parliament’s President on 16 October, while the final award ceremony takes place in Strasbourg on 26 November.

The nominees (in alphabetical order) are:

– Mahmoud Al ‘Asali (post mortem) and Louis Raphael Sako, nominated by the ECR group, Anna Záborská and 66 other MEPs.

– Mouad Belghouate, Ala Yaacoubi and Alaa Abdel Fattah, nominated by the GUE/NGL group.

– CHREDO, Open Doors, Oeuvre d’Orient and Aid to the Church in Need, nominated by Philippe Juvin and 60 other MEPs.

– EuroMaidan, represented by Mustafa Nayem, Ruslana Lyzhychko, Yelyzaveta Schepetylnykova and Tetiana Chornovo, nominated by Jacek Saryusz-Wolski and 52 other MEPs.

– Ayaan Hirsi Ali, nominated by the EFDD group.

– Denis Mukwege, nominated by the S&D and ALDE groups and Barbara Lochbihler.

– Leyla Yunus, nominated by The Greens/EFA group and Alexander Graf Lambsdorff, Marietje Schaake and Ramon Tremosa.

The Moroccan Times.